Update from Jackie

Hello Glenlea family, I’ve spent the last month living in Cross Lake First Nation, and the time is really flying by…I’m here until December, completing my senior practicum for my nursing degree. I love working at the nursing station – it’s challenging and rewarding work, I never know what the day will bring – and I’m experiencing and learning so much. There is a lot of beauty in this community – from beautiful, scenic hiking trails along the river…to a lot of beautiful people, with a fantastic sense of humour, and a love and pride for their families and community. And then there are people you come across, you hear just a snippet of their life story, and think “oh my goodness -I can’t even imagine what you are going through…how can I /we ever judge the decisions you are making based on the circumstances you are in?” I am daily seeking to be a compassionate and hopeful presence, and I am daily inspired by wonderful people I meet. Oh, and moose meat is pretty much the tastiest thing ever!

About glenleamennonite

We are a small Mennonite Church located in Glenlea Manitoba. We have Sunday School beginning at 10:00 and our worship service starts at 11:00. Call two two six - seven five zero five if you have questions. email glenleadale (at) gmail (dot) com We are located here https://maps.google.ca/maps?ie=UTF8&cid=6449400202987910546&q=Glenlea+Mennonite+Church&iwloc=A&gl=CA&hl=en (sorry you will have to copy and paste this)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Update from Jackie

  1. Thanks for sharing, Jackie – can’t wait to hear more!

  2. gary says:

    Hi Jackie. So good to hear from you. I always have good memories of my time in the north as well. Your presence will be so positive (whereever you are!!!). Keep us posted.

Leave a comment